No-Poo Adventure: Day 15

Standard

Today is day 14 of going without shampoo and conditioner, and using the water only method. My hair wasn’t so bad the first few days, but then by day 5 my hair started to feel greasy. Now it feels greasy on a daily basis, but I am getting used to the feeling. I even rinse my hair under hot water everyday, having used a soap bar only once on my roots a week after I stopped poo-ing. I’ve read that it can take up to 6 weeks for hair to adjust, so I am 1/3 of the way through that (I hope!). I only poo’ed and conditioned every other day before I decided to go with water only.

Why water only? Honestly, because I don’t have a hold of some baking soda yet. Or apple cider vinegar, which I have read isn’t a requirement, maybe only for very dry hair. Another reason why I am doing the water only method is because I am going to be living in a cabin this winter without a water tank, and most likely without plumbing. This isn’t a big deal to me, but it was at first. I’ve never had to live without having as much water as I want immediately, but it’s okay. This was I can learn how to preserve water, and being less reliant on anything comes with a growing sense of personal freedom. The other, and most important reason that turned me on to not using shampoo or conditioner, is because of the immense amount of hazardous chemicals in it. Sodium laureth sulfate is the main chemical I am worried about. It’s carcinogenic, which is a one word way of saying it causes cancer. This scared the crap out of me when I first read about it, especially since I have been using these chemicals to cleanse myself the entire time I’ve been pregnant thus far. I am sure it could take years and years of use for some people for it to have an effect on them, but I definitely do not want my daughter exposed to them any longer. So before she is even out of the womb, I have decided to stop using these harmful chemicals, which is also in store-bought toothpaste, body wash, dish detergent, and even baby shampoo! O_O !!!

There is a lot of messed up stuff going on in the world, more than we could even possibly imagine. This was one of those things that took me by surprise when I finally decided to get my head out of my butt and research what I have been slathering onto my skin my whole life. At least I can make a small difference in my life and the life of my unborn child.

Inspired by this article on Simple Mom.

Leave a Reply

